lists · netflix

Netflix Picks

Uni has finished for the summer, my job doesn’t start for another month, and I’ve moved back home to Leicester… time for a Netflix binge and these are the shows I’m loving atm.

 

Orange-Is-The-New-Black-Season-5-Spoilers

Orange is the new Black

First up, OITNB is back on our screens after another year of waiting and boy is it a good season! Now I don’t want to give away any spoilers because A) I’m sure people haven’t seen it yet and B) I’m not that kind of person. I will admit I did binge the entire thing in two days and am now having withdrawal symptoms.

The latest season is set within three days focusing on a prison riot. Only took us five seasons for our first riot. The episodes are increasingly darker and grittier than those before and provide an interesting insight into the lives of prisoners. There are funny parts though, especially as the prison discovers snapchat, youtube and social media. I’d definitely watch Flaritza’s channel.

izombie

IZombie

Next on the list, IZombie! Now, this is a show I felt pretty meh about and refused to watch despite my boyfriend’s insistence. However, my coworker finally got me to watch it and I have to say it’s one of my favourite shows now. It has the perfect mix of crime, mystery, comedy all with an overarching plot of an impending zombie apocalypse.

The show focuses around Liv Moore who unfortunately attends her first party and in the process gets turned into a zombie. Poor girl. So to act normal around her friends and family, she now needs brains. Where better to get brains than the local morgue, ayy? A cute side effect of eating brains is having visions of your victim’s life. So of course, Liv uses this skill to help solve their murders. Brilliant.

pretty-little-liars

Pretty Little Liars

This is a show I’ve watched since I was 14 years old. I’ve grown up with Hanna, Emily, Spencer and Aria and all their mysteries. It’s come to the point now where I just have to see how it ends. I really enjoyed the show at first but now I feel it’s a bit overdone. There’s too many plot twists, unnecessary time jumps, and ridiculousness. They manage to find A and suddenly, 5 years later, there’s another A?? However. I’m excited to see how they will wrap up all these loose ends.

Master-of-None

Master of None

Finally, the second season of Master of None is out! The first season really entertained me and I find Aziz Ansari’s portrayal of Dev so loveable and funny. It’s just something fun you could watch in the background and not have to focus too much on. I also really loved the food aspect.

The second season is quite different from the first in terms of concepts. The episodes still focus on Dev and his love life, job prospects, and his love for food. However, they’re shown in interesting and entertaining ways such as a whole episode filmed in black and white, or an episode showing every Thanksgiving he’s been to since he was little. My favourite was definitely the Tinder episode.

I hope you like my Netflix picks. Let me know what you’re watching in the comments. I’m gonna need some new shows to binge in about two days time when I’ve finished all these!

See you soon, Eliza xo

Leave a Reply

